Webinar invite: a first look at the new GDPR – 12 January, 5pm UK time

Ross McKean

As Datonomy readers will be aware, political agreement was reached on the new General Data Protection Regulation last month.  While we await formal ratification and a final text, Datonomy invites its readers to join a  webinar next week to take a first look at the key practical implications of the new rules.

The webinar is being hosted by Datonomy’s friends at US law firm Fenwick & West.  Robert Brownstone, Privacy co-chair and Electronic Information Management Chair of Fenwick & West LLP and Ross McKean, Head of Data Protection at Olswang LLP, will lead a discussion considering:

  • The timeline for implementation
  • When and where will GDPR apply, and which regulator(s) will be able to enforce it?
  • New rules for service providers
  • An overview of enhanced data subject rights
  • Data breach notification – the new rules and lessons learned from US experience

The registration link is here.  The 60 minute webinar will start at 5pm GMT, – that’s 9am PST, 12 noon EST and 6pm CET – to catch Datonomy readers in different time zones. We hope you will be able to join us!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *